chord

Use this forum for information relating to any PSR Keyboard
thru' to S & SX Series of Instruments.

chord

Postby booboo » 26 Jun 2012 16:28

hello i am only a novice at playing my 900 as it is the first one i have ever seen or attempted to play
i am at a loss to a problem. i have today tried to play a couple of chords whilst playing a few notes with the right hand. the chords sound dreadful as though i am pressing 10 buttons at the same time even if i just press one button. i have switched it off and left it for a while but when i switched it back on it still sounds the same.
what am i doing wrong

joan
booboo

Postby Mike Bracchi » 26 Jun 2012 19:17

Hello Joan,

It sounds to me awfully like the chord fingering is set to 'single fingered' which effectively means that you will get a full 3 note chord by simply pressing a single note (a root note) ...

So, to find out what settings your fingering is on we need to do the following:

Turn on the S900 and after it's initialised press the 'function' button on the display panel > in the screen that opens select button 'C' on the left hand side of the screen > then using the 'tab' button (top right of screen) tab to the 3rd screen 'Chord Fingering' > once you have done this you will see in the bottom left of the display a 'Fingering Type' table you need to select 'Multi-Finger' by using the up or down button (#2) directly below the display > then press 'exit' to clear the screen.

If you find that it is or was already set to 'Multi-Finger' ... we will need to look at other possibilities including doing a 'full factory' reset of the instrument ... not quite as horrifying as it sounds :wink:

I will leave it at that for the moment Joan, try this first and we can go through the steps of a reset if needed.